Sedgley historian looks to unearth history of The Limes

the limes-sedgley-ron-baker
A drawing by Ron Baker, of The Limes as it might have looked in its Victorian heyday.

A Sedgley historian is appealing to local residents to get in touch with any information relating to landmark property, The Limes, which was the former residence of famous Black Country chainmaker, Eliza Tinsley.

The early Victorian house, located on the corner of Dudley Road and Catholic Lane, is currently being turned into flats after standing empty for many years. And, to help future generations and prospective buyers learn more about this iconic building’s history,  Dudley Council  has asked Martin Jones to help gather information and photos from local people to produce an interpretation panel explaining its history.

Piecing together the history of The Limes

Martin, who organised the popular exhibition ‘Sedgley’s Diamond 60’ last year to coincide with the Queen’s Jubilee, says:  “We want local residents who may have lived or worked at The Limes since the war to come forward so we can piece together this historic building’s recent story.”

The Limes was built by the Tinsleys in around 1851, shortly before Thomas Tinsley died, probably from cholera. His wife Eliza carried on the family business, expanding it dramatically to the point where she employed over 4,000 outworkers in Cradley Heath in 1871.

Researchers have traced subsequent owners up to World War II, but its more recent past is sketchy. During the war it was used by firewatchers, Air Raid Patrol and the Auxiliary Fire Service, and during the 1960s by Sedgley Urban District Council as offices, until the abolition of the authority. After that a computer company rented it before it was vacated and became derelict.

Martin can be contacted on 07947 068023 or mmjones29@blueyonder.co.uk